January 19, 2009

Awards Dinner Held

The Ouabache Trails 3D Archery Club hosted its awards dinner Saturday, January 17th, at Ouabache Trails Park. Awards were presented for Shooter of the Year in several classes and the winner of the Big Buck Contest was announced.

Tim Beck, Indiana Conservation Officer, presented a program on the National Archery in the Schools Program (NASP). Officer Beck is responsible for helping create the program in nearly 100 schools across Indiana. According to Beck over 18,000 Indiana students have participated in the NASP.

NASP hosts an annual tournament for Indiana students enrolled in the program. In the most recent year more than 450 shooters from around the state took part in the tournament. He encouraged Ouabache Trails members to become involved in bringing the program to schools in Knox County.

Shooter of the Year winners were presented with shirts which carried the club logo along with the winners name and shooting class. Winners were Doug Hathaway, Robert Lange II, Steve Litherland, Mike Rusher, Brad Hoke, Ashley Rusher, Brett Beard, Brian Rusher, and Neysa Clark.

Mark Kent was the winner of the Big Buck Contest and received a $50.00 gift certificate from the Boyz Bow Shop in Vincennes.

The group recognized the support given the club by Bill Lemons, owner of the Boyz Bow Shop.